The Crew

Philippe BRUNEL (Guitars)

 

After studying harmony and counterpoint at the Schola Cantorum in Paris, Philippe has participated in various musical experiences (Marquis de Sade, Oxo, Blue Fleet, Acoustic Experience, DYP project, …) It will be thirty years of musical research that will end in June 2015, the creation of this instrumental training interpreting an original repertoire composed by the guitarist. Philippe has performed on many stages: Festival des Vieilles Charrues (Carhaix), Festival the rendez-vous of the Erdre (Nantes), The square of thieves in Concarneau, The motorcycle festival in Rouen, Carré Magique (Lannion ), Jazz Festival in Vannes, …

 

Ronan ROUXEL (Violin, mandole)

 Ronan Rouxel, violinist since the age of 4, is attending a classical training at the Conservatory of Music in Brest obtaining the conservatory prize. Marked by the music of Stéphane Grapelli, he discovers his way in the freedom of improvisation playing in various styles (gypsy jazz, jazz, pop-rock, gospel, …). An eclectic musician and composer, he is involved in various creative projects, including Philippe Brunel Acoustic Band, which he joined in the spring of 2017.

 

Eva MONTFORT (Bass) 

A musician for more than 20 years, Eva studies music with several professional bass players. She perfected herself in double bass at the conservatory / jazz school of Eric Le Lann. She will play in many formations, “Sabatoo”, “Raggalendo”, “Repuplik”, “Santa Claws”, “La Cosecha” …, Eva brings the groove and the passion of the game rock / afro. It is during these trips to Cuba, Senegal and Mali that she will improve with the meeting of great musicians such as “Cheick Amadou Tidiane Seck, Barou Diallo, Mountaga Diabate, Bourama Diabaté”

 

David HOPKINS (Percussions)

 

Irish musician living in Brittany since 1992, Hopi has participated in many Breton groups: Barzaz, Bleizi Ruz, An Tourtan, Elixir, Guichen Quartet … and also recorded with Alan Stivell, Didier Squiban, Pat O’May, Myrdhin. We find him today also on stage with Barzaz, Buzz Buddies, An Bothar, Jean-Luc Thomas. His many encounters with jazz musicians or with Turkish, Greek and Arab traditions have nourished his passion for music and percussion around the world.

Tony MONTFORT  (Drums)

Passionate about African, Cuban and other groove, mix of cultures that contribute to the enrichment of his own style, always looking for new rhythms in the service of the music of Philippe Brunel

L’ équipage

Philippe BRUNEL (guitares)

 

Après avoir étudié l’harmonie et le contrepoint à la Schola Cantorum de Paris, Philippe a participé à de diverses expériences musicales (Marquis de Sade, Oxo, Blue Fleet, Acoustic Experience, DYP project, …) Ce seront trente années de recherche musicale qui vont aboutir, en juin 2015, à la création de cette formation instrumentale  interprétant un répertoire original composé par le guitariste. Philippe s’ est produit sur de nombreuses scènes : Festival des Vieilles Charrues (Carhaix), Festival les rendez-vous de l’ Erdre (Nantes), Le carré des larrons à Concarneau, La fête de la moto à Rouen, Carré Magique (Lannion), Festival Jazz à Vannes, ...

 

Ronan ROUXEL (violon, mandole)

Ronan Rouxel, violoniste depuis l’âge de 4 ans, suit une formation classique au conservatoire de musique de Brest obtenant le prix de conservatoire. Marqué par la musique de Stéphane Grapelli, il découvre sa voie dans la liberté de l’improvisation en jouant dans divers styles (jazz manouche, jazz, pop-rock, gospel, …). Musicien éclectique et compositeur, il est engagé dans divers projets de créations dont Philippe Brunel Acoutic Band qu’ il a rejoint au printemps 2017.

 

Eva MONTFORT ( Basse, Contrebasse ) 

Musicienne depuis plus de 20 ans, Eva étudie la musique avec plusieurs bassistes professionnels. Elle se perfectionne en contrebasse au conservatoire / l’école de jazz d’Eric Le Lann . Elle jouera dans de nombreuses formations, « Sabatoo », « Raggalendo », « Repuplik », « Santa Claws », « La Cosecha »… ,Eva apporte le groove et la passion du jeu rock/afro. C’est au cours de ces voyages à Cuba, au Sénégal et au Mali qu’elle se perfectionnera avec la rencontre de grands musiciens tels que « Cheick Amadou Tidiane Seck, Barou Diallo, Mountaga Diabaté, Bourama Diabaté »

 

David HOPKINS ( Percussions )

Musicien irlandais vivant en bretagne depuis 1992, Hopi a participé à de nombreux groupes bretons : Barzaz, Bleizi Ruz, An Tourtan, Elixir, Guichen Quartet…et enregistré également avec Alan Stivell, Didier Squiban, Pat O’May, Myrdhin. On le retrouve aujourd’hui également sur scène avec Barzaz, Buzz Buddies, An Bothar, Jean-Luc Thomas. Ses nombreuses rencontres avec des musiciens de jazz ou de traditions turques, grecques, arabes…ont nourri sa passion pour les musiques et percussions du monde entier. 

Gérard MACE (Batterie)


Après avoir participé à de nombreuses expériences au coté de musiciens renommés : Dan ar Bras ; Alan Stivell; Alan Simon ; Pierre Sellin ; Hervé Sellin ; Hildegarde Wanslawe ; Jacky Bouilliol; Jacques Pellen ; Didier Squiban;Véronique Leberre; Daniel Huck ; Sambossa ; Trevor Stent ; Pickey Butler ; Tony Marshall ; Billy Harper ;Sarah Lazarus ; André Villéger … Gérard Macé continue son parcours de musicien interprète, compositeur, avec bonheur et enthousiasme.